Book Review

REVIEW: Confess by Colleen Hoover

I am not a fan of Colleen Hoover. (And I can now hear the guns cocked at me right now.) After reading Slammed, idk. There is just something about her topics that make me uncomfortable, and not really in a good way. So I try to stay away. (But I did try to read Ugly Love, and I’m still not done, but that might change now.)

confessConfess is a beautiful book. And I mean that not only by the way it was written and how the story unfolded, but in everything. And did I mention that there are awesome artworks in it?? Yeah, if not for the beautiful story, read it for the art pieces because they’re so damn magical.

Confess is about Auburn and Owen, two people tied by fate in more ways than any two normal couple in love could have been. They are the poster kids for being at the right place at the right time, but at the same time, you know it cannot be just that because what are the chances that two people would be at the right place at the right time twice in their lives? And both times were that precipice between a time of before and after in their lives, the turning point of everything.

I believe in fate and destiny. I am a hopeless romantic, but at the same time, I am also a realist. Reading Confess is not such a hardship, wrapping my mind around the idea that here is Owen when Auburn was just about to lose her first love of her life, and here is Auburn, stumbling at Owen’s door, looking at an ad that would save her as much as it would unknowingly save him. It’s not so far-fetched that those accounts could happen in real life, and it’s just beautiful to me. That is the chance that it could happen to anyone, and I realize that that is the reason why so many of us love the fantasy that is brought by contemporary romance.

I am not an overnight convert of Colleen Hoover, and that said, there are a couple of things that rubbed me quite wrong while reading this book.

One is the idea of cheating, and the other is rape.

I admit I did have quite a moral crisis during the cheating part. But still. It’s still wrong, but maybe it’s just a testament as to how strong a writer Colleen Hoover is because one cannot just expect that everything is going to be roses in a story. More often than not, most pieces of literature that are lauded as great texts discuss really uncomfortable topics. And I guess, in general I’m okay with that, and I’m okay with being induced to feeling a squeamish at general topics of uncomfortable-ness (???). So I guess what I’m trying to say is that being forced to re-evaluate my moral compass gives her like, a thousand cookie points from me.

And then there’s the rape part. Not really full-blown rape. But still.

Also! I am reminded of Katja Millay’s Sea of Tranquility reading this book. They both run in the same vein of thought, but also very different from each other. But both really, REALLY GOOD.

Also, the artwork. Guys. The artwork. You have to check out the ARTWORK!!!! You can start searching for Danny O’Connor’s art if you want to get teased into reading the book.

 

4 thoughts on “REVIEW: Confess by Colleen Hoover”

  1. I’ve been seeing this cover everywhere for some reason and wasn’t sure if I should pick it up. I always have the debate of buy the hard copy vs. ebook vs. library. What would you suggest?

    1. Definitely hard copy. I have an ebook of it, but after reading through the whole thing, it’s just imperative to acquire a physical book where you can see the actual artworks. So yeah, if you’re buying this book, definitely a hard copy. 🙂

  2. I love it! ❤ I am also a fan of Colleen Hoover. I like it when you said, "but maybe it’s just a testament as to how strong a writer Colleen Hoover is because one cannot just expect that everything is going to be roses in a story." Yes! She is such a legend. Colleen's stories are really heart-wrenching. Maybe she got her talent from being exposed to the broken ones as she was a social worker once upon a time.

Leave a Reply

