Book Review, Favorite, Recommendations

Mud Vein by Tarryn Fisher

I feel like everything Tarryn Fisher writes is heavy as fuck. Seriously.

When Hazel Anne told me that this book was given polarized reviews, I thought to myself,”Whaaaaaat? How could anyone not love T.F.’s works?? Maybe people who doesn’t like catharsis. Or idk.”

But I think I get why people would not like this book.

Image


Mud Vein is all about two people who were just in the right place in the right time, an act of serendipity, really. Senna Richards is as broken as one could get. I think 87% of the time, I was trying so hard to connect with her brokenness but I just couldn’t and not because she is very unlikeable or a weak character. She is broken. BROKEN. I don’t think she was made in such a way that her level of brokenness is easy to relate with. And Isaac Asterholder is a doctor through and through: wanting to fix and save people. Isaac, I think, is set to balance Senna’s heaviness, but still carries the same brand of darkness in him. 

This book is really, really heavy on the psychological tests. It’s so dark and gritty and I feel like Tarryn wrote this as an exploration of the darkness of the human mind: how far a person can push away emotions and really, really push it away.

I’ve rea a few psychologically-testy books, you know, similar characters who shut off their emotions, but I’ve never really read anything that made me understand WHY they resort to such extreme coping mechanisms. Mud Vein was a difficult read. Senna was a difficult character, but her complexity is admirable. I just cannot imagine how Tarryn managed to write such a beautifully dark, complex and broken character. I know I wouldn’t sustain the amount of sheer effort to create such a character.

To be honest, I think this is one of Tarryn’s best books. I just love how she writes in a no-holds-barred kind of way, like if she’s going to make you feel emotions, you are going to drown on them. I just finished reading it and I can still feel the dark, dark pit in my stomach on just how dark this fucking book is. 

More importantly, Tarryn still writes as beautifully as ever. Just reading her word, the way she presents the story, is an English Language major’s pleasure. There are just so many paragraphs and quotable quotes all throughout the book (that I cannot show you all because my internet was sucky while I was reading it and ugh.)

Okay, this one I really love (and there are tons more in the book!)

Being stuck on love was a real bitch to cure. Like cancer, I think. Just when you think you’re over it, it comes back.

Leave a Reply

