Uncategorized

Clara’s 2013 in the Wraps + Top 5 Books of 2013

Joyeux nouveau annee~! 😀 ¡Feliz año nuevo! 😀 Happy New Year~! 😀

2013 had been a wonderful year for me. Although it did start off as an extension of my ~*gloomy and depressive*~ days, it picked up midyear into probably one of the best times of my life. And for that, 2013 will always be a memorable year for me.

This year had been a year of friendship: ending, beginning and bonds forged stronger than ever. It felt like the end of one of the most dysfunctional friendships I had really come into completion. (It had been a long time coming, so.) It saddens me that a friendship has come to an end, but I learned that people grow, people change. And sometimes, we find ourselves completely different from our younger selves. That our principles and beliefs may lie somewhere different and far from when we younger. Consequently, the friends we had from our younger days will grow into different people, with different sets of values and principles as we do. And then in some inevitable cases, you will find each other at odds. The bitter truth of the world is that sometimes friendships end, not because there are arguments or shortcomings, but people just drift away. Almost as if there are just relationships that are not meant to be.

There are also new beginning this year. New friendships I’ve formed through the internet, imagine that, (and they are the most awesome people ever!) and from the new leg of my life. This year, I finally made the choice to pursue what I really want, my greatest what-if: English Literature. I am still not officially into the program, but I’ve been taking units, as you all know, and you know what? It feels like it’s the best decision I’ve ever made since college started. The classes I’ve been taking are the most wonderful classes ever. A big, big bonus is that the faculties are probably the kindest, most awesome teachers I’ve ever had in my entire collegiate experience. Seriously, follow you dreams, even if they have the biggest chance of you being unemployed after graduation.

Do what you love! Life is too short to waste it on engineering school things you don’t love.

So for next year, I’m really really hoping and praying that I be accepted officially into the program! 

I also started this blog this year! 😀 I actually only started this blog so I can work my way into getting advance review copies of books, but since I’ve neglected this blog for soooooo long, that dream is still kind of stilted. (Although a few authors have come to me for reviews from my GoodReads and tumblr accounts. AND THOSE WERE THE BEST EXPERIENCES EVER!!)

In line with this being my book blog, I’d like to list down my top 5 books of 2013! Yeaaaaah, I had to share my life first before I went down to business.

Clara’s Top 5 of 2013

5. Rock Chick Series by Kristen Ashley

If there is something you have to know about me, it’s that I love a series of books about a group of friends or a family. And the Rock Chick series was  gold mine! Initially, it was very hard to get into. KA’s characters are really crazy and out of this world and it just took so long before I could stomach their craziness. But what really captured me into reading ALL of the books in this series is Lee Nightingale and his hotness. Because, come on let’s be honest here, KA writes the hottest, baddest alpha males in the world of New Adult-landia!

4. Fantasyland Series by Kristen Ashley

Uhmmm, so yeah. This year had definitely been a KA year for me! So since I was only partially into KA reading her Rock Chick series, Fantasyland sunk me in totally. Especially book 2, The Golden Dynasty, which to be honest made me feel like a continuation of my Game of Thrones OTP, Daenerys and Khal Drogo. And I have to say, the Fantasyland series has some really awesome world building. It wasn’t too complex or big like Lord of the Rings. It was simple but it freaking rocked! It is a manifestation that sometimes the right combination of a good writing style, kickass characters, rollercoaster plot and a simple world building can make a impressionable book.

3. The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

I hated John Green. But mostly because I hated Looking for Alaska. So before the year ends, as I gorged myself into meaningless contemporary romances, I tried to give myself a genre jolt, and boy, what a jolt it had been! I’ll be posting my review of The Fault in Our Stars later this week. But let it be known that I am now a John Green believer. The Fault in Our Stars was flawless.

2. The Sea of Tranquility by Katja Millay

I read books really fast, so a usual paperback only lasts three hours to me. That’s also why I loved Kristen Ashley’s books because they always take me twice as long to read. I only read The Sea of Tranquility because it was mentioned in More Than This by Jay MacLean, and that decision cost me a heart and half of my soul. The Sea of Tranquility is a magical experience for me. It made me remember why I have a hope in my soul for romance books.

1. Eleanor and Park by Rainbow Rowell

Eleanor and Park owns my body and soul and possibly my first-born child. Seriously. This book gutted me and gahd, it was a fucking experience. It felt like if Hector of Troy was still alive as Achilles dragged his body around the perimeter of Troy. Reading this book felt exactly like that. It was so noble. I’ll probably make more sense in my review of this book, which I will publish also sometime later this week.

2013 was a wonderful year. I hope all of you guys’s year was as wonderful and fantastic as mine! Let’s all hope 2014 will even be better and lot more awesome than 2013!

Leave a Reply

