Book Review, Hauled!

HAULED!: Unspoken by Sarah Rees Brennan

unspoken

Kami Glass loves someone she’s never met . . . a boy she’s talked to in her head ever since she was born. She wasn’t silent about her imaginary friend during her childhood, and is thus a bit of an outsider in her sleepy English town of Sorry-in-the-Vale. Still, Kami hasn’t suffered too much from not fitting in. She has a best friend, runs the school newspaper, and is only occasionally caught talking to herself. Her life is in order, just the way she likes it, despite the voice in her head.

 

I had such high hopes for this book, since it’s so hard to find for me. Plus, the premise was really interesting. I found the start to the middle of the book quite so incomplete, like I’m missing some emotions. I guess there could have been more descriptions as to how everything happens. It felt like witnessing an event through a replay–detailed but detached.

The ending, however. Oh my God. The ending. I have no words. For me, the ending redeemed the whole book. Although I am not really happy with how only a few questions were answered, I love how sad the ending was because finally, it evoked an emotion in my part, and boy, that was some evoking. So intense.

Another thing also, the characters felt like they’re all the same. They speak with the same brand of wit, and it feels like there is no variety of personality between all of them. Aside from the Holly and Angela being gorgeous people, which the book reiterated for so many times, it feels as if Jared and Kami and Kami’s father are just the same mind, same person.

I can’t wait for the next installment, simply because there are lots of things left to be uncovered. There’s still so much potential for this book.

Leave a Reply

