Book Review, Favorite, Hauled!

HAULED!: Sweet Thing by Renee Carlino

Mia Kelly is a twenty-five-year-old walking Gap ad who thinks she has life figured out when her father’s sudden death uproots her from slow-paced Ann Arbor to New York City’s bustling East Village. There she discovers her father’s spirit for life and the legacy he left behind with the help of an old café, a few eccentric friends, and one charming musician.

Will Ryan is good-looking, poetic, spontaneous, and on the brink of fame when he meets Mia, his new landlord, muse, and personal heartbreaker.

A story of self-discovery and friendship, Sweet Thing shines light on the power of loving and letting go.

sweet thing

crying because this book is just so perfect ughhhhh <3<3<3

(Not really. But kind of. Sort of.)

Can we just begin by saying that I have to agree with most of the people who fell in love with Will Ryan? BECAUSE HE IS JUST THAT AWESOME.

I have to admit, I was quite hesitant about this book upon reaching the middle–which is crazy, I’m already halfway towards it, right? But see, I have problems with Mia’s natural tendency to fuck things up like you wouldn’t believe. Like, she know exactly what she’s doing or feeling, and for a pretty logical person, she really does the exact opposite of the right thing to do even when she knows it. Also, I couldn’t quite grasp, at this point, why she was behaving in such a manner. I guess the story just left me wondering about Mia’s struggle/conflict.

But. I have to say that there is a certain point in the book where things started to warm up to me, and really captivated me for the ascent of the story. (Which I will not be saying here hahaha.) But I assure you, the moment I was taken, I was hooked. And that was it for me.

What I really really loved about this book was its take on the concept of faith, or taking a leap of faith. I think it embodies this lesson too much that to read this book was to exactly believe and have faith. It really felt to me that the things happening in this book was going tragically downhill. REALLY. And I’ve read a lot of self-destructing characters to say this. And as if a divine will (hahahaha really bad pun. totally not intended!) was really behind the movement of the story, everything finds their way to where they should be.

Unlike other HEA books, I didn’t feel this one as an easy book. The path to a Happily Ever After here was long and really bumpy, full of obstacles. At one point, near the end of the book, I really thought that redemption was not possible because I really feel someone was going to die because it felt like the characters are magnetically pulled to some struggle and an eternity of agony. Seriously.

I really appreciate how everything in this book is with purpose. The characters, the struggles, the songs and just everything. In other books, you feel like a story is created between a mix of personality and struggles molded into two characters who pushes the story forward towards some linear story and a predictable happy ending. And with this book, it felt more in the sense that it felt like the world is designed to create a single resonating story, and that every detail is a part of this story, and will help tell this story. Every detail has its role to contribute in the movement of the plot.

I only realized this upon the last chapter (not surprising). But I guess it just hit me strongly, this realization. Because I would totally hate anyone who will come up and tell me they totally see that big reveal at the end! /creys

(Also, can you please forgive my moment of fangirling because I really can’t contain this. THAT ENDING OMGGGGG CANNOT REALLLLYYYYYYYY~~

(I was gearing up to scream some spoilers buttttttt no.)

I know I’m not the best reviewer out there, but trust me in this guys. The ending is worth it.

2 thoughts on “HAULED!: Sweet Thing by Renee Carlino”

Leave a Reply

