Book Review

REVIEW: Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren

Okay. So this is the part where you guys have to know that I do read erotica. A LOT. So if you don’t dig this kinda thing, well yeahhh~ You may leave. You’ll be missed sorely though.

Image(Please don’t leave~ Huhu~)

Yep. I do read Erotica. And this is this blog’s first Erotica review~ Woooooot~!

Whip-smart, hardworking, and on her way to an MBA, Chloe Mills has only one problem: her boss, Bennett Ryan. He’s exacting, blunt, inconsiderate—and completely irresistible. A Beautiful Bastard. 

Bennett has returned to Chicago from France to take a vital role in his family’s massive media business. He never expected that the assistant who’d been helping him from abroad was the gorgeous, innocently provocative—completely infuriating—creature he now has to see every day. Despite the rumors, he’s never been one for a workplace hookup. But Chloe’s so tempting he’s willing to bend the rules—or outright smash them—if it means he can have her. All over the office. 

As their appetites for one another increase to a breaking point, Bennett and Chloe must decide exactly what they’re willing to lose in order to win each other.

Beautiful Bastard started as a fanfiction under the Twilight category, originally called The Office. Although you actually started to read the book, you might wonder how in the hell it came from Twilight. Not to bash Twilight or anything, because I did like Twilight once in forever ago. But I did. To be honest, I also don’t get how Fifty Shades of Grey and Bared to You started from Twilight. -____-

Anyway. So yes, I do not get how Beautiful Bastard stemmed from Twilight because for one thing, the heroine, Chloe Mills, is actually a fighter. She doesn’t settle for the protection or the advantages she might get just from sleeping with a man. She genuinely wants to make a difference in this world, make a name for herself in the business industry because she’s smart, strong, fierce, independent,and she fucking can, that’s why. I seriously love her. She doesn’t compromise her principles for her feelings, sexual or emotional, which is always a win for me.

True to its Erotica nature, the book opens as Chloe rants off, despite being strongly attracted, about how her boss is basically The Devil Wears Armani. But still come off as this completely irresistible, gorgeous piece of man. On one hand, Bennet Ryan is the Douchebag of the Century, and the other, he might be the reason Adonis ran off bankrupt. (Which could totally possibly happen, in both the looks and financial department.)
Chloe starts her day disastrously, marked by her late entrance to their office where Bennet Ryan, her boss, berated at her for being late. He tells her to do a thousand things, including to set up a mock presentation for the Papadaki’s account, which is basically her thesis project that still has months to go before completion, to be presented at the end of the day. So she crams everything in the seven hours she’s left, and when the time to finally present it to her boss, BAM! Sexual tension just exploded. All over their conference room.
And thus the start of their hate-love sexual relationship.

As expected, there are so many steamy sex scenes in this book. Although for me, every single time mentioned was fine and not overly saturating. (Because there are Erotica which comes off as PWP that sometimes I wonder why I even bother reading such things when there is literotica accessible.)

The book is told in alternating voices of Bennet and Chloe, which works fine because you can see the distinction between their personalities and why the differ with each other. It is a big thing for me to feel the distinct personalities of the characters, because they are the ones who tell the story. And with Beautiful Bastard, characterization is flawless.

What I loved with this book was despite the fact that I read it because I’m just a pervert, was it managed to ensnare my feelings with it. It actually made me fall in love as Chloe and Bennet fell, and hurt when they were apart. Not only did it hold my attention (like, I really don’t want to put down the book until I finished), it actually made me feel. It did not move me to tears, or changed how I view life, but it made me feel and that’s good enough for me. Already better than a few of the books I’ve read.

Rating:
Beautiful Bastard: 8/10 (For the entertainment factor 😉 )

PS. Definitely a love story better than Twilight and Fifty Shades 😉

2 thoughts on “REVIEW: Beautiful Bastard by Christina Lauren”

Leave a Reply

